Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena Times-Union Center for the Performing Arts EverBank Field Prime F. Osborn III Convention Center Baseball Grounds of Jacksonville Ritz Theatre And Museum
 

News & Announcements

Main Street Bridge closure update

July 28, 2017 2:36 pm

Main Street Bridge will see closure next three weekends, nightly closures next two weeks

Jacksonville – Jacksonville’s Main Street Bridge will see weekend closures for the next three weekends, from 6:30 p.m. on Fridays to Sundays at 6 a.m. and nightly for the next two weeks, complete schedule below, as part of improvements to the mechanical, electrical and structural systems.

Weekend closures:
Friday, July 28 from 6:30 p.m. to 6 a.m. Sunday, July 30
Friday, August 4 from 6:30 p.m. to 6 a.m. Sunday, August 6
Friday, August 11 from 6:30 p.m. to 6 a.m. Sunday August 13

Weekday closures:
Tuesday, August 1 from 6:30 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Wednesday, August 2 from 9 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Thursday, August 3 from 6:30 p.m. to 6 a.m.

Tuesday, August 8 from 6:30 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Wednesday, August 9 from 9 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Thursday, August 10 from 6:30p.m. to 6 a.m.

These closures will take place in addition to the scheduled weekly lane closures, which occur on weekdays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

During the closures, both vehicular and pedestrian traffic will be detoured to the Acosta Bridge. Signs will direct traffic through the detour. Boaters will not be impacted by the closures.

The improvements to the Main Street Bridge include the replacement of several major mechanical components, replacement of the entire electrical control system, replacement of the traffic gates, sidewalk gates, lightning protection system, and closed-circuit television cameras that give operators live views of traffic conditions. The work will include new heating and air conditioning units, water and sanitary sewer lines, and floor tile for the control house.

M & J Construction of Tarpon Springs was awarded the $10.7 million contract. The project is expected to be completed in fall 2017.

 

Information provided by FDOT. Learn more at NFLRoads.com